Gobble, Fold, Gobble, Fold

A turkey say on a backyard fence
and he sang a sad, sad tune.
“Thanksgiving is coming,
gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble,
and I know I’ll be eaten soon.
Gobble, gobble, gobble,
gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble,
how I’d like to run away!
Gobble, gobble, gobble,
gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble,
how I hate Thanksgiving Day!”

My mom used to sing this to us around Thanksgiving, and somehow I  didn’t make the connection to the forlorn turkey, resigned to its fate, and the slices of meat that the holiday seemed built around.  And sadly, I never even liked turkey that much.

I went into craft overload last week, got a little burned out, so I turned to origami to cleanse my pallette.  I couldn’t help but learn how to make an origami turkey!  There are so many ways to make these, from different shapes of paper in differing levels of difficulty, but I went with easy and simple.  That way I can make 20 of them to dominate the dinner table!

I have a job interview today to be a private arts and crafts tutor.  No, I am not joking.  My task is to engage the child in some Thankgiving-themed crafts, so origami turkeys are my first hurdle.  I found a very simple tutorial on Youtube, while not incredibly sophistacted, lends itself to fast duplication.  Why one turkey when you can have 15?

Pulling out the head and tail is not an exact science, so you can make more variation with this turkey.  I also suggest scribbles or drawing a design on the blank side of the paper so it adds a little detail on the finished product.  It’s a simple enough turkey, so you can also embellish it with paper or real feathers, marker, glitter (glam turkeys?) or whatever you have around.

At a loss for turkey-crafts, my friend Heidi suggested “toilet paper roll turkeys”.   I just so happened to be collected (hoarding) paper tubes, and played a little jazz:

Make a v-shaped cut from the top of the tube to make the head, two more v-cuts on each side to make the wings, then several down cuts from the back to make feathers.  Bend them as you wish, and color/paint all over! There were lots of other tutorials for this sort of thing online, but I really liked how plain and easy this one was.

Other crafts I will utilize in my “interview” today, drawn from the best and brightest on the internet:

Candy Cane Felt Garlands

Paperwheel name tags

“Lil Felt Pumpkins”

Paper garlands – We can also go outside and find pretty leaves, make rubbings of them with crayon and attach the cut-outs onto our garland, or just use the leaves themselves (they’ll last a few days I’d bet).

Wish me luck, and have a great Thanksgiving!

 

One Comment on “Gobble, Fold, Gobble, Fold”


Say something!

