Making Puppets: Henson Stitch

from hippocoworker.tumblr.com

INSPIRATION!  I took some time off my puppet-making research, but I couldn’t resist answering the question, “What are muppets made from?”

The internet led me to a wonderful article specifically on the muppets, teaching me what their “skin” is really made of (antron, or, Muppet fleece) and how it is you never see seams on the their faces. I present to you (non-puppeteers) the Henson Stitch:

The type of fabric used really lends itself to hiding seams or imperfections.  I would never have known!

I didn’t know to look for this information until something provoked the question.  Most of the time, you don’t know what question to ask to get the answer you need.  [TANGENTIAL AGENDA ALERT] And that is why teachers and librarians ARE SO DAMN IMPORTANT.  They take the garbled stuff that comes out of your mouth and help you form it into something useful.  Answers can be easy, but questions are the hard part.

So maybe I was helped by a picture of a hippo, but I gotta recognize.

[UPDATE] OH MY GOD FACTORIES ARE LIKELY  NOT MANUFACTURING ANTRON FLEECE ANYMOOOOOOOORE.

3 Comments on “Making Puppets: Henson Stitch”

  1. Michael says:

    I caught “The Muppets” today and I *loved* it! Jason Segel and Amy Adams did such an incredible job! And then… the muppets! It made me so happy seeing them all together again. Me and my friends laughed heartily through the whole thing! I just wish there was more Miss Piggy. 🙂

  2. […] fantastic progress on the mushroom cloud puppet, and am at the point where I needed to revisit the Henson, or Muppet, stitch.  I practiced on a small piece of the fleece I chose for the cloud’s […]

  3. […] the veins around the core.  All the seeds were stitched on by hand, and I used the Henson Stitch to sew the furry peel to the green center.  I finished it off by using a tiny pick to tease out […]


Say something!

