More felt flowers!

AAAAAH!  We’re leaving in two days for a Midwest holiday (more than two weeks!) and I’m scrambling to get my clothing together, let alone figure out blog stuff.  I’ve got post-its all over my computer reminding me to take pictures with my lightbox before I leave it, to wrap the damn gifts, and for some reason all these little ideas of crafty things to do that most sane people don’t have time for.  Must. Throw. Away. Post-its.

I entered the Lovely Package Exchange at Oh Hello Friend, and in getting to know my recipient learned about a new felt flower method.  This is MUCH less time-consuming than the lovely one I usually use from Holidash.  Thank you Janice (of Bellwether Thoughts) for the recommendation, and thank you Infarrantly Creative for coming up with it!

Now, as usual, I substitute needle felting for glue every time.  I have no time or love for glue when it comes to fabric projects.

Materials Needed:

  • Felt (sheets or by the yard)
  • Felting needle and pad
  • Pinback
  • needle and thread (I’m sure you could also just felt a piece of felt over the pinback onto the felt felt felt felt)

Look, I made a video!  Pretty, pretty.  What I don’t show in this video is how to put the flower together once you’ve cut the petals.  This is where the original tutorial would run glue along the roll as you’re rolling it.  I used a thread and needle and made little stitches, but I think just felting it at an angle as you go along works just fine.  Get all that stabby rage out!

Once you’ve got your strip all felted/glue/sewed up, you’ll cut the notches into the folded edge.  In all of my photos, I have cut the petals at an angle.  Test different patterns in your notching: more notches equal smaller petals, less bigger, and you can try starting small and getting larger. 

By the end, the felt almost looked like a solid mass, but if your needle skills aren’t that thorough, consider cutting an circle to fit right over the back and stitch it in place.  Stitch the pinback on before you do that! Saves hassle.

3 Comments on “More felt flowers!”

  1. Beckie says:

    Woo hoo! I am glad I inspired you! Thanks for the shout out.

    • birdjibble says:

      I’m so honored you came by! I’d made about 20 of the Holidash flowers before I found this one. It’s simpler in a way, but it makes such a difference how you cut the petals. I’ll be following you!

  2. […] I’m surprised– that’s the gene pool I come from.  Her’s is way better than mine! My wonderful, crafty […]


Say something!

