Your Game of Thrones Gift Guide – Best of Etsy

If you REALLY want to find the dorky stuff, do a search for “ASOIAF” (A Song of Ice and Fire).  For those of you who are just watching the show, that is the name of the as-yet-to-be-finished series by George R R Martin.  Game of Thrones is just the first.  I’d say it is icing on the cake, but this cake is all frosting.  The second season series premiere is on Sunday, and I’m going to impose if I have to, because I don’t have a TV or HBO.  I want to watch this show as it’s crowning out of HBO’s on-air birth canal.  Sorry about that.

My favorite stuff isn’t emblazoned with the show or series’s name, or the faces of the characters*.  That’s why I loved the Westerosi coins I posted about earlier this week. Let’s take a look at some items that further flesh out Martin’s universe or make real things already described in the book:

Dragon-scale bracelet

from JDesigns129 on Etsy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Melisandre’s Necklace (The Red Lady of R’hollor)

from sthenno on Etsy

An entire Cersei Lannister costume (I’m beyond impressed)

from Valchiria on Etsy

Very nice!  House words plaques, and not just the well-known ones:

from RFabiano on Etsy

An embroidered map of Westeros, which I can imagine would exist since paper is hard to make.

from Savage Sewing on Etsy

Davos Seaworth Finger Bones (that’s a bit more off the beaten path…)

from Westeros on Etsy

And in an sillier mood… Joffrey Baratheon’s head as a cat toy

from Microbe on Etsy

And finally, THIS is some dedication: Daenerys’s dragon eggs

From Underground Aquarium on Etsy

I guess there is a ban on “weapons” on Etsy, because I saw not a single dragonglass knife or replica of Arya’s sword Needle.  Don’t worry, you can get the latter one at Valyrian Steel dot com!

When I first discovered Etsy, I was intrigued by the ways people would tack on tags of popular books and movies to get people to see their stuff.  Sometimes there would be a very tenuous link between their item and the tag (for hilarious example) but it is a lot more interesting than commercially produced merchandise.  I’d like to mention ex-Etsy member Foxwise** who makes simple stamped bracelets with “Valar Morghulis” on them.

So, get thee to a TV screen on Sunday night!  If you haven’t seen the first season or read the book, you might wanna just wanna catch up on Season One.

*When I was little, I thought the tackiest and most absurd thing in the world were Halloween costumes that had the face of the character you were dressed up as, on them.  Gem does not wear a dress with her face on the side.  That is wack.

**She’s got a sad but common story of getting ripped off on Etsy, so she moved her shop to its own site.

2 Comments on “Your Game of Thrones Gift Guide – Best of Etsy”

  1. Thank you for putting this together! My husband and I are huge fans of the series (novels and show) and these are some great gift ideas for him.

  2. insideherribcage says:

    I don’t watch game of thrones, but I must have been channeling it. I just made this scaly bracelet! http://meganraley.blogspot.com/2012/03/kumihimo-with-long-magatamas.html


Say something!

